The International Union of Writers has announced the finalists the the London Literary Awards

исправленное_Монтажная область 1
The International Union of Writers has announced the finalists the the
London Literary Awards, a new and ambitious five-yearly award given in
six categories to writers in the Russian and English literary communities.
The International Union of Writers (IUW) is pleased to announce the
creation of the international London Literary Award, to be presented once
every five years.
The goal of the London Literary Award is to encourage communication
between English-language and Russian-language writers and two to create
a common cultural space for sharing and understanding between these two
great literary communities.
There are six nominations of the London Literary Award:
— The Charles Dickens Award for novels, short fiction, or journalism.
— The Lord George Noël Gordon Byron Award for poetry or essays
— The Samuel Johnson Award for criticism.
— The William Shakespeare Award for dramatic works.
— The Lewis Carroll Award for science fiction and fantasy.
— The Mikhail L. Lozinsky Award for literary translation from Russian

to English and English to Russian.
Each award will be presented in three categories: New Authors, Established
Authors, and Grand Masters. Our jury has compiled a preliminary list of
finalists, each of whom, in our opinion is deserving of the title, Best Author
of the Year. From this, a short list of finalists (listed below) was chosen.
And since the works will be written in different languages, each award will
be presented to both Russian and English-speaking authors.
The English language long list for the Charles Dickens Award (Grand
Master) is as follows:
  • Woody Allen (USA);
  • Dan Brown (USA);
  • William Gibson (Canada);
  • Joe Hill (USA);
  • Peter Ackroyd (Great Britain);
  • Kazuo Ishiguro (Great Britain);
  • J. K. Rowling (Great Britain);
  • Stephen Fry (Great Britain);
  • Tibor Fischer (Great Britain);
  • Alexandra Adornetto (Australia);
  • Birimbir Wongar (Australia);
  • Richard Glover (Australia);
  • Bradley Trevor Greive (Australia);
  • Greg Egan (Australia);
  • Eleanor Catton (Great Britain);
  • Nick Cave (Australia);
  • Peter Carey (Australia);
  • Desmond O’Grady (Australia);
  • Lex Marinos (Australia);
  • Kiril Kadiiski (Bulgaria);
  • Wilbur Smith (Republic of Zambia);
  • Dina Rubina (Israel);
  • Colm Tóibín (Ireland);
  • Yu Jie (China);
  • Nassim Nicholas Taleb (Lebanon);
  • Laimonas Tapinas (Lithuania);
  • Laila Lalami (Morocco);
  • Robert MacNeil (Canada);
  • Dorota Maslowska (Poland);
  • Pier Bayar, Alain Fleischer (France);
  • Antjie Krog (South Africa);
  • John Maxwell Coetzee (Australian);
  • Mongane Wally Serote (South Africa);
  • Marlene van Niekerk (South Africa);
  • Jonny Steinberg (South Africa).
You can already find the list of finalists in all nominations on our website:
The winners will be announced on December 11th, 2020
Initially, it was planned to hold the award ceremony in London, but due to
the pandemic, such a large gathering is not currently possible. So the
awards will be held online, with the time and location to be announced
Russian winners will receive a grant to translate their book so it can be
published in the UK. For the winner of the William Shakespeare Award for
Drama, the winner’s play will be produced on the stage of the Royal Court
For further information or for a complete set of the long lists, please contact
the IUW:

Share the news on social networks: